Assembly Member Canestrari Majority Leader and Senator LaValle ranking minority member of the committee on Higher Education, have committed to be our sponsors. Under the proposal, to become a licensed dietitian or nutritionist an individual must:
- Receive a minimum of a bachelor’s degree or its equivalent as determined by the department in dietetics or nutrition or an equivalent course of study as determined by the department,
- Complete an experience component in accordance with regulations under supervision of a licensed dietitian or nutritionist or a dietitian or nutritionist who is registered by a national dietetic association
- Pass an examination as determined by the department
- Pay a fee to the department for the examination and initial license
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be of good moral character
Special Exemptions- the following individuals are permitted to engage in dietetic or nutritional services, but may not adopt the title of licensed dietitian or licensed nutritionist:
- Licensed physicians, or other licensed professionals legally recognized to provide such services,
- Students in clinical practice in accordance with accredited program of dietetics or nutrition,
Grand-Parenting—individuals meeting the following criteria may become licensed, if such individual:
- Is currently certified as a dietitian or nutritionist, and
- Files an application for licensure within one year and pays appropriate fees
OR, TRACK TWO
- Files and pays appropriate feeds with one year,
- Is currently a registered dietitian or nutritionist by a national association,
- Received at minimum a bachelor’s education as defined above, and
- Complete an experience component in accordance with regulations under supervision of a licensed dietitian or nutritionist or a dietitian or nutritionist who is registered by a national dietetic association,
- Be of good moral character.
- This legislation becomes effective 1 year after it becomes law.
About General Certification & Licensure
Certification protects the title of a particular profession, not the practice of the professional. Certification is voluntary.
Licensure protects both the title and the practice. Licensure would be required to provide services.
New York State Education Department administers 48 licensed professionals.
Licensure will protect the public from un-educated, un-skilled individuals attempting to provide dietetic services.
The New York State Education Department has protected the title of certified Dietitians and Nutritionists for over ten years.
Forty-four (44) states, other than New York, regulate the profession. Thirty (30) of these states provide for licensure.
As of 2004, there are currently 4,622 certified dietitians and nutritionists in NYS.